Sewing Projects

Keeping busy – I made a wrap!

Baby is due in 16 days (when it will actually arrive is open for bets) so I am trying to distract myself by keeping busy. Today I decided to make a wrap. As you do.  I had a large chunk of purple jersey stretch fabric that I had bought in Rejects of Kirkcaldy about a year ago. I had originally thought about making some sort of top to wear in the summer, but ran out of inspiration and most of my spare time was spent running so the fabric stayed in the bag. I used some to make my maternity jeans a few months ago but it still left a good couple of metres sitting unused in the bag.

After spending some time clicking Pinterest links and following blog after blog, I found my way to this web page – Fine Craft Guild Bina Brianca Wrap Cardigan. This was exactly what I was looking for – something simple but useful and more importantly something I could use the purple fabric for. The tutorial was really simple and easy to follow – no point rewriting it, just have a look there!

using the tutorial on the link above, I cut the fabric into the panels required, left space for arm holes and then sewed the pieces together. To try and keep it neat and stop the fabric fraying, I used a zig zag stitch all the way around the edge of the wrap as well as round the arm holes. All in all, it took me about three hours to make. That’s time taken to measure the drop, width, measure it all again, measure the fabric three times, cut careful, watch an episode of Case Histories, the sew it all together. An ideal quick and easy project!

here it is, carefully placed (bwahahahaha) on the floor to show the colour and armholes. I love it. I may have spent a bit of time sweeping about the house pretending to be some kind of Count…

image

Leave a Reply

